Archive | 6:43 am

To row, or not to row?

12 Apr

As I have said in my last post I have A LOT of news.

I don’t think I’ll be able to fit it all into one post so it’ll have to be a two parter. (The second part having more photos ;))

I made my triumphant return to the gym this past weekend since I only had training for one sport and had a fair few days off.

I feel like all I have been doing is running around and chasing balls for all of my exercise

*please refrain from making the above a pun ;)*

Speaking of chasing balls, we won quarterfinals today in soccer and play a tough match for semis tomorrow!

Now, back to your regularly scheduled programming.

I was neglecting my arms and missing strength training.

I had two nice long sessions filled with weights, medicine balls, BOSU’s and some good old fashion planks and push-ups for my arms.

I also started and finished each session with 20-30 minutes of cycling.

The bikes are situated so you get a clear view of the middle of Uni.

People watching is one of my all time favorite activities so it was rather easy to be on the bike for 30 minutes.

 

I have also become a napper.

I have had four -count them- four naps since I returned to Australia. (not including my 16 hour jet-lag induced “nap”)

If you know me you know that I have always struggled to nap.

Always set it as a New Years Resolution, and always average about two naps a year.

But things are a-changing.

I attest my success to lots of early morning sport (both supporting and playing), lots of mid-day trainings, and lots of general activities to exhaust me on a daily basis.

I will admit my diet has not been the best of late.

Blame on my constant sport. Blame it on the fact that I’m in college. Blame it on the fact that I do not have a fridge, microwave, or oven, and am subject whatever the cafeteria provides.

I’m not eating horribly but it’s a bit different from my usual clean-and-pristine diet or all natural foods with little additives.

What I’ve noticed from this is not a change in my body, but more in the way I feel.

I generally have a healthy breakfast and lunch.

English muffin with vegemite for brekky and some sort of massive salad with dips for lunch. But dinner never satisfies me (I also can’t resist sticky date ;)) and I get peckish at night. That’s when the ‘junk’ starts to happen.

Gotta get to a friend’s house to cook ASAP!

I might have a sneaky camera sesh in our cafeteria one brunch. I feel weird doing it, but better that than a formal dinner!

 

 

Back to sporting news: Rowing tryouts are this weekend and I’m still tussling with the big debate…

To row or not to row? That is the question….

Rowing is by far the most intense and important sport in all of college. It is very competitive and I don’t know if I will even make it.


But the training is very intense. About 4 hours a day most days of the week. (Whaddup 5am trainings?)

 

What do you think? To row or not to row?

How far do you push yourself in sport, exercise, or racing?

 

Casey