Casa Bonita Quinoa

20 Sep

Since I now have a much heavier schedule than I am used to, I’ll be brown baggin’ it more often than not.

But this is much more modern and chic compared to the old brown bag:

How Kah-yoot!

I got this bad boy in Australia. Microwave and dishwasher friendly. And a handy-dandy compartment to store my fork!

Plus its a perfect contraption for salad shaking.

Remember those salad shakers from Mickey Dee’s?

Trust me – the organic/sustainable way if more fun.

You will be seeing a lot of Quinoa on the blog. Until I get sick of it and need to take a break to see other grains.

Quinoa just hold up so well and the flavor combination it can take are so versatile. Spicy, zest italian, sweet ‘n’ fruity.

Does it sound like I”m rattling off the name of salad dressing to anyone else?

Back to my train of thought- spicy.

Given the fact that I’ve made my way back from down under to the rockies, I thought I’d Casa Bonita it up.

Hatch Chiles again? Yeah, I went there.

I let the quinoa cook up for a bit then threw in some hatch chiles.

Then waited some more before I threw in the rest of the ingredients.

Casa Bonita Quinoa (v)

  • 3 c water
  • 2 c quinoa
  • 3-4 chiles (hatch are not incredibly spicy so alter accordingly) 
  • 1/2 can of black beans
  • 1/2 diced and sautéed onion
  • Chili Powder (I used Chile de Arbol)
  • Chopped tomatoes (or whole cherry/grape tomatoes)
  • A sprinkle of Old Bay (optional)
  • S&P

  1. Heat water in a covered pot
  2. Add quinoa (and salt) and cover
  3. Once the mixture has started to thicken, add the chiles
  4. When the quinoa looks just about done add the remaining ingredients

Oh hey, it’s vegan too!

Adios,

Casey

Leave a comment