His and Hers Nacho’s

4 Jan

The first day of school is already behind me. Pretty excited to take a lighter load of classes and internship, plus my classes seem fun! Nice way to start off my last quarter of school.

I’ll take a dip into the past, since I was late in the game with posting some meals made around the holidays.

To follow up the his and hers grilled cheeses, I present you with His and Hers Nachos

Not only is mexican food the easiest to make vegan, but its makes a great “throw whatever you have in the fridge/pantry” meal

His: Blue Corn Tortilla Chips, Salsa, Meat of Choice (in this case sausage), Cheese, Fage (as sour cream)

Gobbled up in seconds by the boys of the family.

My G-Free and Vegan version was first inspired by a new supermarket find, that was all to adorable.

I was sold by the packaging.

“Politely Hot”

I love it. At least it has manners.

I cooked it in a bit of Jalapeno Oil, added some seasoning and voila. My Dad even raved it was the best meal I made him when I put it in a burrito for him.

Even the meatiest of meat eaters can eat delicious vego food.

Hers: Beanitos Black Bean Chips, Avocado, Salsa, Daiya Cheese, Soy Crumbles, Fage

The other great thing about Mexican food?

Rinsing and Repeating.

All Mexican food is the same, just wrapped in a different form of corn (Nacho chips, tortillas, taco shells, enchiladas….etc…)

I made my own version of Huevos Rancheros the following morning

In the mix: Tortillas, Spinach, Onion, Cheese, Black Bean Dip, Eggs, and a Mango Hot Sauce we bought at a restaurant called Coconut Jacks.

Hey Mikey! He Likes it!

Favorite Vessel for Mexican Food?              Nachos all the way for me 🙂

x

Casey

12 Responses to “His and Hers Nacho’s”

  1. hotlyspiced January 4, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

    What great looking nachos. I love the ‘his’ and ‘hers’. I make two different nachos here too – one with chilli for me and one without for the kids. Such a great meal that the whole family loves.

    • Casey January 4, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

      I know I love how you can tailor it to everyones liking 🙂

  2. KatsHealthCorner January 4, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    Tacos are DEFINITELY my favorite kind of Mexican food. And nachos. 🙂

    • Casey January 4, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

      Yum, tacos make me think of taco salad. Cause that’s what they’d turn into because I’d make sucha mess trying to eat it!

  3. Kate January 4, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    Haha, I laughed at “politely hot.” I’m intrigued by the tofu crumbles- I really miss taco meat sometimes!

    • Casey January 4, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

      Glad you got the giggles too 😉 Ground Walnuts also make an awesome taco meat substitute

  4. Asmita January 6, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    Nachos look mouthwatering! I love Mexican food.

    • Casey January 7, 2012 at 11:38 am #

      Thanks Asmita, I’m on a major nacho kick at the moment. I love how you can make them slightly different each time.

  5. Hannah January 6, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

    Oooh, your nachos look incredible! Except for how I totally lack the ingredients to make it 😛

    • Casey January 7, 2012 at 11:38 am #

      Anything goes in the nacho world. Unless you dont have chips or toasted tortillas, then it just gets messy.

  6. Kate January 7, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    Oh I love all things mexican and these nachos look fabulous !! I love the idea of his & hers, keeps everyone happy 🙂

    • Casey January 9, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

      Exactly! Though the vegetarian crumbles have been enjoyed by both sexes lately. Love it when the healthier food wins 🙂

Leave a comment