New Oddball Exercise

7 Jan

I’m heading to the grocery store today so I can buy all the ingredients and meal components I have dancing around in my head. So in other words, you are in for a treat. Or five.

I’ve busy, busy, busy this first week of school, which is uncharacteristic. Thus, I’ve been resorting to eating a lot of apples and Amazing Grass Superfood Bars. Those are my favorite bars by far. They keep me full all day and I know I’m getting a good dose of vitamins and minerals.

The other night I tried a new to me (and new to my gym) class.

It was a spinning class but it also incorporated lifting. We used light weights and would do little exercises with them as we cycled. At some point we’d have to dismount our bikes and hold a plank for two minutes. Or we had to pass around multiple medicine balls to each other whilst mounted on our bikes.

And rest assured each week there will be some new oddball exercise we have to do on or off of our bikes.

Keeping me on my toes.

This class was beyond fun. I loved the change up from my usual spin class, if they offer anything with “Lift” or “Weights” in the title of your spin class, you have to take it!

Question: What the most fun, yet wacky class you’ve taken?

There’s no way this one was half as odd as the Jump Rope class I took at UniMelb made me feel. I’ve also heard of hula hoop classes, but I think that sounds awesome

GO BRONCOS

x

Casey

5 Responses to “New Oddball Exercise”

  1. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts January 7, 2012 at 1:33 am #

    I would love a jump rope class!! Your spin class with a twist does sound interesting as a fall back though…a nice way of combining different forms of exercise. I did trampolining as a child and whilst that’s not exactly a fitness class, I do sometimes wish they had a similar thing for adults!

    I’ll look forward to your meals / recipes 🙂

    • Casey January 7, 2012 at 11:37 am #

      A trampoline class sounds like it would kick my butt!

  2. hotlyspiced January 8, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    Good on you for getting back into exercise so soon into the New Year. I don’t do the gym but I do do swim squads. Unfortunately the pool is closed for renovations so I’m unable to get there this January.

    • Casey January 9, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

      Renovations on a pool in summer? Now that’s just mean! Maybe you’ll get bit by the cycling bug. It’s non weight bearing just like swimming 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hapa Sushi « Insatiably Healthy - January 14, 2012

    […] did find time to do a three minute plank in that Spin Class I was talking about last week. No idea that I was capable of […]

Leave a comment