Archive | 12:00 am

Fun With Chickpea Flour

9 Jan

The past month I’ve been having all kinds of fun with chickpea flour through my gluten free adventure.

I’ve used it in the past, but certainly not with this frequency.

I’ll be doing a two to three post arc regarding this beauty.

Today marks my most frequents use:

The Chickpea Pizza / Tortilla / Crepe

Whatever you wish to call it, thought tortilla pretty much sums it up.

Basically it all starts out at an equal ratio of chickpea flour to water.

Then I add whatever seasonings and pan fry it on both sides

Examples of spice additions:

  • Curry powder
  • NOOCH!
  • Maple spice
  • Chives
  • Dijon powder
  • Garlic
  • SKYS THE LIMITS!

But I do always add Salt and Pepper no matter what since the flours a bit bland

Then the most fun part…TOPPINGS!

Roasted Tempeh, Spinach, Eggplant spread (by Giada….soo yummy), scallion.

Mushrooms, Red Onion, Avocado, Arugula

Mushrooms, Daiya, Arugula, Onion, BBQ sauce

And the list goes on…

Basically I’ve been eating these for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

So filling and so satisfying.

I love how you can slightly change the flavor by any additions. I haven’t even begun to add all the spicy things I can do to this dish. (Sriracha, Jalapenos, etc…)

The consistency can be altered by the amount of water used in the recipe. Usually around 1/4 cup will make one tortilla (or just over one)

Come back tomorrow to see a sweeter side to the chickpea tortilla

HOW BOUT THEM BRONCOS?

x

Casey