Archive | 12:00 am

Fun with Kale Chips

27 Jan

Whenever I’m unfamiliar with a method of cooking or an ingredient I always use a recipe until I’m comfortable enough to start messing around with it.

I broke in my dehydrator with a Sour Cream and Onion Kale Chip recipe from Thrive Foods (this is my latest go-to recipe book and everything so far is fab-u-lous)

I couldn’t believe how easy this was and why I have not done this sooner. Especially because it’s so cheap compared to the pricy kale chips in store.

I immediately whipped up two variations the next day.

Basically there is a nut base (either sunflower seeds or cashews) and then a bunch of spices among other things.

This one was nooch flavored.

  • ½ c sunflower and cashews
  • 1/3 c water
  • 1/3 c nooch
  • ½ t salt
  • ½ t pepper

I think this was my favorite….or maybe the sour cream and onion. Ah they’re all amahzing.

Curry Flavored

  • ½ c sunflower and cashews
  • 1/3 c water
  • 1/3 c nooch
  • ½ t salt
  • ½ t pepper
  • 1 T curry powder

Sour Cream and Onion

The onion powder was an excellent addition

One of the thing I love about making these is that I can put them in that night, flip the on switch, and they’re ready for me in the morning. Or vice versa.

My next mission is to come up with a bunch more variations! I’m thinking old bay will be next. And also a lot more fun with the dehydrator.

Question: Any flavor suggestions while I’m at it?

x

Casey