Archive | 12:00 am

Wylds and Sanibel

26 Mar

It’s been an eventful weekend full of beach going, cycling, and restauranting.

And the boys won their flight in the golf tournament!

Onto the restuaranting and beaching…

In my opinion Wylds Cafe is one of the best restaurants in the Bonita/Naples/Ft Myers, FL area.

Though I haven’t been to a ton of restaurants here, most of them are chains so hole-in-the-wall always win out.

My favorite was this appetizer: Crunchy Rare Tuna

served with a trio of sauces. A wasabi, a soy butter sauce, and a sambal

The sauces were great, though the wasabi was probably my favorite.

The tuna was rise and rare and the crust seemed to be panko crusted and crunchy compared to the softness of the tuna.

We also went to Sanibel over the weekend, which was uneventful compared to some of the nicer beaches closer by.

Short beach, but very quiet and peaceful.

Sanibel is packed equally with kitschy diners and swanky eateries.

We chose a swanky eatery. Sweet Melissa’s Cafe

I got the Curried Crab Salad

Aside from the delicious thinly sliced honeydew I wasn’t very into this salad.

So I dove right into my Mom’s leftovers from her Grilled Shrimp Heart of Palm salad.

Arugula, Hearts of Palm, Orange Segments, Hazelnuts, Avocado Croutons

Hazelnuts are soo good on salads. Mental note to ass this to my grocery list.

Avocado Croutons = Fried Avocado

Terrific Texture Combo – smooth and crunchy

Pictures of Bonita Beach to come!