Smoothielicious

1 May

I finally know what also the huh-bub regarding smoothies is all about. Better late then never!

I have my ninja blender to thank for that. I bought this model at Bed Bath & Beyond with the handy-dandy 20% off coupons they give out like they’re going out of style.

This model is magic bullet like. It comes with three individual grab-n-go cups and also a larger blender for making big batches of smoothies or dough, etc…

The difference maker of the ninja products is that the blade is at the bottom, not the top of the blender, so all of the ice is blended easily. Just 5 or 6 pumps and its smoothielicious.

In the mix:

  • Almond milk
  • coffee
  • avocado
  • hemp seeds
  • flaxmeal
  • spinach
  • cacao
  • protein powder
  • maca
  • salt
  • ice

This specific recipe came from Katie at Rooted Wellbeing‘s Whole Foods cooking class on power breakfasts. I took her breakfast challenge and tried each of the three breakfasts to see what my body responded best too. Obvi, the smoothie won out.

Problem solved.

So freaking delicious but I forgot one of the basic rules of smoothie making. I had no straws on hand. Smoothies aren’t quite as fun with a spoon. Or spilling all over your face.

The avocado makes it super creamy which I love. The hemp, flax, and protein powder give this staying power. I was stuffed for a long, long time. It kept me from feeling snacky the whole day and night. And it was a nice cooler in this 80 degree heat.

I used Life’s Basic protein powder which is vegan and derived from pea and rice protein. I sampled it at a grocery store and was sold ever since.

Welcome to my life Green Monsters. I may or may not be having you every single morning.

x

Casey

 

2 Responses to “Smoothielicious”

  1. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts May 1, 2012 at 2:19 am #

    Aha! Here is your avocado smoothie of deliciousness 🙂 It looks like a great blender / processor you have here – much better than my blender which isn’t up to much (I have a great food processor, but it leaks with smoothies!). Enjoy your new breakfast 🙂

    • Casey May 2, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

      I forgot the avocado today, silly me, and it totally ruined the creaminess :(. Do you guys have ninjas in australia (of the kitchen appliance variety of course) they’re such a cheap alternative to a vitamix

Leave a comment